Quick answer (official sources checked on 2 November 2026; amounts in Armenian dram, AMD)
- Who this is for: holders of a 1-year temporary (or 5-year permanent) card that is about to expire and whose ground for residence — job, company, family, study — still holds.
- Government fee: temporary AMD 150,000 review + AMD 5,950 card (155,950; card duty per the consolidated State Duty law — see the duty note) · permanent AMD 250,000 + 5,950 · not refunded if refused (MIA statement).
- Tabsi fee: request a quote.
- Timeline: statutory decision within 30 days of filing, subject to the annual quota; no post-reform practice data yet.
- In person? Filed online; one in-person appointment after the preliminary review, plus in-person card collection with fingerprints and an e-signature sample.
- Reviewed: 2 November 2026 · Tabsi Travel consulting team.
Or call +374 33 099171 or send the assessment form.
Can you still extend an Armenian residence permit? Short answer: no — you re-apply
No. Since 1 November 2026 the Law "On Foreigners" contains no extension of residence status. Temporary status is granted for up to one year and permanent status for five; to continue, you file a new application on the platform of the Migration and Citizenship Service (MCS), reviewed against the current grounds, duties and annual quota.
Before the reform, Article 15(2) read "up to one year, with the possibility of extension by one year each time"; the text in force from 1 November 2026 reads only "granted for up to one year", and law-firm alerts (EY, Schneider Group) confirm the extension mechanism is gone. Applications filed before 1 November 2026 are decided under the old rules, and status documents issued earlier stay valid until expiry. The MCS's older English pages still show the extension wording and old fees — not yet updated on 2 November 2026. See the new Armenian residence rules from 1 November 2026 for everything else that changed, and the Armenia residence permit guide for the status types.
| Item | Until 31 Oct 2026 | From 1 Nov 2026 | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Extension mechanism | Yes, one year each time | None; a new application | Official |
| Where you file | migration.e-gov.am booking, in person at the MCS, 14 Tairov St (employment cases: workpermit.am) | mcs-permits.am, online | Official |
| Temporary duty | AMD 105,000 | AMD 150,000 + 5,950 card | Official (card: see Table 4 note) |
| Permanent duty | AMD 140,000 | AMD 250,000 + 5,950 card | Official (card: see Table 4 note) |
| Decision period | 30 days, extendable by 30 | 30 days from filing; no extension clause found | Official |
| Refund if refused | — | Not refunded (MIA statement) | Official statement; statutory basis open |
| In-person steps | Filing and collection | One appointment + collection with fingerprints and e-signature | Official |
| Special 10-year status | Issued for 10 years | No longer granted; existing holders keep it until expiry | Official |
Who has to re-apply, and when?
1-year temporary card holders
A new application every year, reviewed against the current grounds and the annual quota the Government sets by status type, number and ground; an exhausted quota is a statutory refusal ground. No quota figures had been published on 2 November 2026.
5-year permanent card holders
Granted for five years; the law provides no extension for any status, so a new application is due at expiry. Conditions are in the pillar guide.
10-year special-status holders
Existing holders keep the special passport until it expires; it is no longer granted. After expiry only temporary and permanent status exist, and the ground depends on your situation.
When to file
No official source sets an earliest or latest filing window. Our practical guidance, not law: file early enough that the 30-day statutory decision period ends before the card expires; while a filed application is pending, your presence in Armenia remains lawful. Filing after expiry is not covered by any official source we found — ask the MCS or contact us; do not assume tolerance.
The main condition: your ground must still hold
The new application is not a check of your old card; it is a fresh test of the ground. Most temporary residents hold employment-based status — 6,085 of the 8,181 temporary statuses granted in the first half of 2026 were employment-based, and Indian citizens were the second-largest group of temporary-status recipients after Russians — so the employer-filed route comes first. If you own the company that employs you, read the founder row: since 1 November 2026 founders and directors of majority-foreign companies are no longer exempt from employment permission.
| Route | What the new application checks | Source and status |
|---|---|---|
| Employee (employer files) | An employment or service contract exists. No contract within 15 working days of obtaining the status is a refusal or termination ground; if a contract ends early you have 15 working days to sign a new one through the digital contract system, otherwise the status is terminated. | Art. 19(1)(9), 27(1); service 2 — official |
| Founder or director of a majority-foreign company | No longer exempt from employment permission since 1 November 2026: needs the employer route or entrepreneurship-based residence (next rows). | Art. 23 — official |
| Company participant (LLC) | At least AMD 2,000,000 invested in charter capital (or securities of that value). Status may be deemed invalid if capital is withdrawn or falls below AMD 1,000,000, or if no tax data on business activity is recorded within 180 days of grant — a dormant company will not carry a second year. | Art. 29.4(3), (5) — official |
| Sole entrepreneur | At least AMD 1,000,000 in business accounts; the platform's service describes AMD 1,000,000 turnover in the previous reporting period or AMD 1,000,000 in a bank account. A 60-day turnover alternative is reported by law firms, not yet official. | Art. 29.4(3); service 5 — official; 60-day rule reported |
| Family or study | The ground must still exist; no official source sets a re-application rule specific to these grounds. | Pillar guide |
| Every route | The annual quota must not be exhausted. | Art. 19(1)(13) — official; no figures published |
For the AMD 2,000,000 route see residence through company registration; for the employer route, employment-based residence and work authorisation.
Documents for the new application
As of 2 November 2026 the MCS has not published a post-reform document checklist. Until it does, expect the categories of the pre-reform official list (identical for temporary and permanent status), confirmed per case. Armenia accepts foreign documents with an apostille or consular legalisation, then an Armenian translation; check your country on the HCCH status table (sources below). Whether translations from your first card can be reused is not addressed by any source, so budget for new ones.
- ☐ Application on the platform — confirmed (replaces the paper form)
- ☐ 3 colour photos, 35×45 mm (employers upload a 3×4 photo on the platform) — expected; confirm per case
- ☐ Passport and a copy (uploaded on the platform) — confirmed; notarised Armenian translation — expected (pre-reform list)
- ☐ Documents substantiating the ground (contract; company extract and charter capital; family or study papers), apostilled or legalised and translated — confirmed in principle; list per case
- ☐ For children: birth certificate, parents' passports, marriage certificate — expected
- ☐ Medical certificate — open: required before the reform, not confirmed after it
- ☐ Proof of state-duty payment (paid on the platform before review) — confirmed
Step by step: re-applying on mcs-permits.am
Since 1 November 2026 migration.e-gov.am and the "Early One" app no longer serve residence matters; workpermit.am shows an official closure notice naming https://mcs-permits.am — the "unified electronic platform" the law places under the MCS from that date. The interface was Armenian-only on 2 November 2026 (the /en address returned a 404), one reason English speakers use a local representative.
For employment-based residence the employer's director or an authorised person files: the employer registers, adds you under "Human resources › Employees" (passport, e-mail, phone, 3×4 photo), completes the working-conditions questionnaire, creates the application and pays the duty — either party can pay — and the MCS reviews only after payment. You log in through an e-mail invitation and a face-recognition check. Self-registration is open only to EAEU citizens with a contract, foreign sole entrepreneurs, investors of at least AMD 5,000,000 and ethnic Armenians; an LLC applies for its foreign owners through the entrepreneurship service.
The MCS then makes a preliminary review and schedules one in-person appointment. A required action not completed within 5 days suspends the proceeding automatically. Your stay remains lawful while pending; the decision is due within 30 days of filing; the card and certificate of lawful residence are collected in person, with fingerprints and an electronic signature sample (under-16s through a parent or representative). The collection location is not stated officially.
| Step | Who | Where | Time (legal / practical) | In person? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Check the ground still holds (Table 2) | You, your employer, or us | — | — / before you file | No | Art. 19, 29.4 |
| 2. Prepare, legalise and translate documents | You | Home country + notary | — / depends on the country | Partly | mfa.am; MCS list |
| 3. Register and upload | Employer (employment); company or you (entrepreneur) | mcs-permits.am | — / no data yet | No | mcs-permits.am |
| 4. Pay the state duty | Employer or you | Platform | Before review | No | Service 2 |
| 5. Preliminary review; window for required actions | MCS; you | Platform | 5 days to act, or automatic suspension | No | MCS press 30 Oct 2026 |
| 6. In-person appointment | You | MCS, as scheduled | — / no data yet | Yes | MCS press 30 Oct 2026 |
| 7. Decision | MCS | Platform | ≤ 30 days from filing, subject to quota | No | Art. 17(4) |
| 8. Collect the card; fingerprints + e-signature | You (under-16s via a parent) | Not stated officially | — / no data yet | Yes | MCS press 30 Oct 2026 |
State duty for the new application (2026)
Every new application pays the full duty for reviewing an application (item 8 of the State Duty law); since there is no extension, there is no reduced "renewal" rate. The amounts are in force since 1 November 2026 per the Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA) and the consolidated Law "On State Duty"; "1 January 2027" in some reports refers only to a new work-visa duty. Translation, notary, medical and our service: request a quote. For the whole budget see the full cost table for an Armenian residence permit.
| Item | Amount (AMD) | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary residence — review of the application | 150,000 (was 105,000) | Item 8(a); MIA | Official |
| Residence card issuance | 5,950 | Item 8(c) | Official per the consolidated text; see note |
| Permanent residence — review | 250,000 (was 140,000) | Item 8(b); MIA | Official |
| Certificate of lawful residence (mainly EAEU citizens) | 30,000 + 5,950 | Item 8(d), (e) | Official |
| Refund if refused | None | MIA statement | Official statement; statutory basis open |
| Translation, notary, medical, Tabsi service | Request a quote | — | — |
Note: the AMD 5,950 card duty is in the consolidated law (item 8(c)), but the MCS duties page was not yet updated on 2 November 2026 — confirm on arlis.am. "Not refunded" is the MIA's statement; we found no refund clause in the law. USD equivalents are not printed because the rate changes daily.
After the new card: keeping your status
Three duties follow the card, plus one planning point. Absent from Armenia for 183 days or more? Notify the MCS through the platform within 10 days (holders of investment- or exceptional-services-based permanent status are exempt). Entrepreneurial status: tax data on business activity must be recorded within 180 days of grant and charter capital must stay at or above AMD 1,000,000. Job ended: sign a new contract through the digital system within 15 working days or the status is terminated. Planning: permanent residence in Armenia on family or entrepreneurial grounds requires temporary status for at least three years within the preceding five, so each temporary year counts; whether a gap between cards breaks the count is not addressed in any source. Employment is not a permanent-residence ground under the amended Article 16, so do not expect a 5-year card after three re-applications.
Common mistakes when re-applying
- Assuming the card renews automatically — it is a full new application.
- Letting the card expire before filing; lawful stay is assured only while a filed application is pending.
- A company with no tax activity in its first 180 days, or capital pulled below AMD 1,000,000.
- Missing the 5-day window for required actions — automatic suspension.
- Budgeting the old AMD 105,000 duty, or expecting a refund if refused.
- Special-status holders expecting another 10-year passport.
- Forgetting the 183-day absence notification.
- Re-entering on a visitor, official or transit visa and applying for employment-based residence without changing visa type, or entering visa-free and applying without the employment permission — both are refusal grounds. An eVisa is neither residence nor a right to work; see Armenia eVisa for Indian citizens.
Tabsi case notes
The law took effect on 1 November 2026; there are no re-application timelines under the new system yet, and we will not invent one. First re-applications under the new system — updated 2 November 2026: none completed. Real, consented and anonymised cases will be added here; until then the only figure is the statutory 30 days.
FAQ: renewing an Armenian residence permit
Can I extend my Armenian residence permit?
No. Since 1 November 2026 the law has no extension clause; temporary status is granted for up to one year, permanent for five, and continuation means a new application on mcs-permits.am under the current rules.
How much does it cost to re-apply?
The full state duty again: AMD 150,000 to review a temporary application plus AMD 5,950 for the card (card duty per the consolidated State Duty law — confirm on arlis.am); AMD 250,000 plus 5,950 for permanent. The MIA says it is not refunded if refused. Tabsi's fee: request a quote.
Who files the new application if I work for an Armenian employer?
Your employer's director or an authorised person files on mcs-permits.am, and the duty must be paid before the MCS reviews. You log in through an e-mail invitation and a face-recognition identity check.
Is mcs-permits.am available in English?
Not on 2 November 2026: the platform is in Armenian and its /en address returned a 404. Your employer or a representative in Armenia handles the screens; we file in Armenian for clients.
How long does the decision take?
By law the MCS decides within 30 days of filing, taking the annual quota into account. There is no post-reform practice data, so we quote no typical duration; file early enough for the 30 days to end before your card does.
Do I need to be in Armenia?
Filing is online, but you attend one in-person appointment after the preliminary review and collect the card in person, giving fingerprints and an e-signature sample. We found no official provision for doing this at an embassy abroad.
My job ended before my card expires — what now?
You have 15 working days to sign a new contract through the digital employment-contract system; otherwise your status is terminated. Tell us immediately so the new employer's filing starts within that window.
I own the company that sponsors me — does anything change?
Yes. The exemption for founders and directors of majority-foreign companies ended on 1 November 2026. You need either the employment permission through the employer route or entrepreneurship-based residence, which requires at least AMD 2,000,000 in charter capital.
Official sources and review date
Author: Tabsi Travel consulting team · Last reviewed 2026-11-02 · Tabsi Travel is not a government body. Items marked "reported" rely on law-firm alerts (EY, Schneider Group), cited as such, never as official.
- HO-11-N amending the Law "On Foreigners" (ARLIS) — adopted 20 Jan 2026, in force 1 Nov 2026; Art. 14, 16, 17(8), 19, 29.4, 30
- Law "On Foreigners", consolidated text in force 1 November 2026 (ARLIS) — Art. 15(2), 17(4), 19(1)(9)–(13), 23, 27(1)
- Law "On State Duty", consolidated text in force 1 November 2026 (ARLIS) — Art. 8; item 8(a)–(e)
- HO-12-N amending the Law "On State Duty" (ARLIS) — new multiples
- MCS press release, 30 October 2026 — procedure, 30 days, 5-day suspension, in-person collection, 183-day notice, pre-1 November rule
- MCS notice, 19 June 2026 — migration.e-gov.am and Early One retired
- MIA statement of 6 October 2026, republished by Armenpress — new duties, non-refundable, 2027 work-visa duty
- mcs-permits.am — about the platform; employment-based service; entrepreneurship service (Armenian)
- workpermit.am closure notice — names mcs-permits.am
- MCS "Acquiring Temporary Residence Status" — pre-reform checklist and wording, not yet updated
- MCS state-duties page — old amounts
- mfa.am — apostille or consular legalisation; HCCH Apostille Convention status table
- Armenpress, 25 August 2026: residence statistics for the first half of 2026
- Reported, not official (law-firm alerts, not linked): EY Armenia law alert "Amendments to the RA Law 'On Foreigners'" (17 February 2026); Schneider Group, "Armenia amends Law on Foreigners: key changes effective 1 November 2026" (10 September 2026)
Or call +374 33 099171 or send the assessment form. We quote per case after a free assessment.
